pixietalksgamergate

PixieJenni talks GamerGate with both 'sides'

GamerGate + You (part 10)

on September 19, 2014

No answers have been changed/merged for this one.

Some answers may not be included if they misunderstood the question – they may instead have moved to ‘bonus’ as a section. Will highlight if that is the case.

People are anon if they didn’t explictly say “call me x”. Email me again if you want to change that 🙂 Anon referencing consistent within this topic, but not with others.


1. Why did you personally get involved with the #GamerGate tag?

Anon85: “I’ve grown up with video games and enjoy them more than most non-‘gamers’ but i don’t let them define me as a person, nor do i carry a chip on my shoulder (i’ve experienced plenty of bullying, but not really due to games). I’m also feminist – in that i believe in equal rights regardless of sex, gender, race, class etc.. What upset me most, and convinced me to stand up for #GamerGate, was firstly: the vilification, harassment and censorship of ‘gamers’ from game review sites, from twitter followers of Zoe Quinn, and others – people that claimed to care about gamers and had our interests at heart. Secondly: the blatant misrepresentation and misuse of feminism and other “social justice” issues, in order to serve a selfish agenda. It disgusts me that a number of individuals have used feminism to label criticism of some shady goings-on as misogynist and harassment, whilst simultaneously silencing and harassing women and minorities under the guise of feminism”

 

Anon86: “I’ll be honest, I only caught up with it on /v/ a little while after it started. I’d thought it was something-something overdone ethics at first, a small and easily extinguished fire and had no idea who Zoe was until someone started “shilling” in that thread. Then I read up on what Zoe did to the TFYC and how she was connected to the journos–as well as the fact that she had apparently milked the situation for more sympathy and drama while insulting “the gamer” on her twitter. That peeved me off. I guess I’d been only casually aware of what happened behind the scenes of gaming journalism & their effects until now, but I woke up afterwards. IMO, if it affects game development this much, then it needs to stop.”

 

Anon87: “I didn’t really register anything about it until the day the 10 or so articles in 24 hours all came out howling at gamers and declaring our community identity as dead, and gamers as an audience somewhat archaic and unnecessary; this at least piqued my interest and ultimately although I had and still have no opinion either way about events prior to that event, I then found it somewhat disingenuous that an entire movement is railing on content consumers to affect change rather than content creators, and rather than getting gamers on side, as ultimately we vote with our wallets, games that don’t perform well in the marketplace, don’t get sequels meaning that resources at studios could be used for new innovative IPs that can then potentially address the issues raised. But instead of getting us on side, the gaming media seems intent on lighting a fire under it’s audience which I see as either grossly counterproductive or that their intent lies elsewhere.”

 

Anon88: “The day the articles came out that Gamer is dead. I identify as a Gamer, and I felt like it was a Slap to the Face. I admit I can be mean in an arguement, but I’ve never harrassed anybody. I treat everybody equal. But it was a giant generalization that all Gamers were White Fat Racist Manchild Misogynistic Assholes. It reminded me of Jack Thompson calling all Gamer’s sociopath killers in training. Its an unfair generalization, and the large number of people jumping on Gamers, Bullying all for the actions for a few? I felt hurt and something needed to be done. “

 

@DocBray: “I actually joined in later than some on Gamergate, but before others on the discontent with certain sites/press outlets in gaming. Having already boycotted a lot of the sites in question before this, and sending my share of emails to advertisers and editors of concerns I had, it was easy to identify with some people’s issues. Not in reviews, but in their coverage and analysis of gaming news and culture. In the weeks leading to September I had heard some rumblings of the Zoe Quinn stuff, though abhorring tabloid-eque things I ignored it. Start of September I started reading some more stuff about the connections of people outside the obsession with people’s personal affairs. The tipping point was reading a piece written by @angelheartnight here http://angelwitchpaganheart.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/thought-of-a-feminist-gamer-on-gamergate/
After reading that, I spent a very long night pouring over twitter for articles to read, videos to watch and the general reaction to it all. I then saw enough from wide facet of diverse individuals in all fields starting to express some of the issues I had, so I joined my voice in.”

 

Anon89: “As a journalist who publishes freelance (of minor import) and as an enthusiast myself, I felt it was necessary to keep involved in the discussion about journalistic ethics. Many gamers just want their questions answered and want a clearer idea of what’s ethical and why things are the way they are; I’m interested in those people and journalists connecting, rather than being drowned out by contempt from some journalists and developers and bigotry and harassment from misogynists.”

 

Anon90: “Corrupt game journalism will be the death of indie games which in turn will lead to a less diverse gaming market. I cannot stand by idly while favoritism, nepotism and personal (political&social)bias create positive (unwarranted) press for some and causes others to loose out on press because they dont fit the agenda. If game journalism continues as it is, only games that either fit their narative will be allowed to succeed. others will have to reach out to their public via other means, which most indie developers cannot do.”

 

Anon91: “Over the last ten years, I have increasingly seen debates closed down by accusations of –isms of one sort or another. It’s a trend that has unsettled me (liberal, former lawyer, committed to logic on the one hand and fairness on the other) and led me to investigate the reasoning behind the ideology that supported such accusations. For me, the reasoning was faulty. At its core, I could not accept the notion that one’s sex or race or sexual orientation could ever justify generalisations, denouncements or mockery of people with a different sex or race or sexual orientation. The hypocrisy of such a position from those claiming to want equality alone is insupportable and the tendency of many of those who identify as Social Justice Warriors to sneer at others was also extremely off-putting. Of course, complaining of such would be seen as tone policing, itself a sign of the fallacious logic in the tactics used by many proponents that I’ve seen. In the last year, these ideologies have impacted on two areas in which I have an interest. The first was the field of science fiction and fantasy, a life-long favourite genre of literature. The second is gaming. I’m a casual gamer, so not an enthusiast but with the above interest, #GamerGate was a natural draw.”

 

Anon92: “Because i do want proper game journalism, and as it is i just cannot trust these gaming sites. Because i’ve bought to many gaming products that do not fit the description, backed one to many projects where developers flat out lied. I’m pissed off that devs are not held accountable, pissed off that journalists when pointed out to such discrepancies prefer to delete comments instead.”

 

Anon93: “When the media closed ranks and didn’t report what was happening at the time and I was personally told to ‘F*** off’ by a game journalist who runs a site I considered my home, for asking why they weren’t covering the issues.”

 

Anon94: “After Leigh alexander’s articles on “Gamers are Dead”, she wrote that one day before we celebrated Gamer’s Day on south america”

 

Anon95: “I was really upset by major gaming sites telling me that I’m something despicable, worth insulting, just because I play video games and by the fact that about the only place I could talk about it was 4chan of all places.”

 

Anon96: ” These are issues I’ve long been passionate and vocal about. Gamergate simply brought much of this to light.”

 

GooFromSpace: “I’m a big believer in the idea of a “social contract.” Not so much as a literal idea that’s written down somewhere, but more as a set of guidelines people should follow in order to make sure that the actions of people in society tend to work for the benefit of everyone in it. Gaming is an extremely lop-sided industry where consumers don’t have anyone looking out for them when developers and the media decide to work together against their interests. As a result, we’ve got a slice of the economy where consumers get screwed by misinformation created by apparent collusion all the time. I thought the indie scene was free from this sort of thing, but it turns out it isn’t. The corrupt just use different methods, like peer pressure and ideological group-think.”

 

Nathan: “I knew gaming rags have been paid publicity for publishers for a while, but the preachy political content really got to me, too. I felt that it was highly unprofessional for them to worry so much about it. Then, when I saw that the corruption went well beyond that and even the “little guys,” indie developers were as guilty as anyone, then I started to seriously follow it, and I got even more involved when the developers and press cowardly started to hide behind the feminist movement as soon as things started to heat up. I don’t have a Twitter, though, so I haven’t been involved aside from talking with a couple disgruntled ex-writers over Twitch. I’m just a very interested observer right now who’s thinking of writing a few letters to a few advertisers.”

 

Anon97: “Game journalism indirectly dictates what games get made. Corruption now changes the way games get good/bad press. I was curious if there was any corruption going on or not.”

 

Anon98: “Was not invested until #notyourshield. The implication by news outlets and supporters that “gamers” were white, straight, cis male sexists made my (mixed-race) blood boil. I was raised by a feminist and an anti-racism activist who were born 5000 miles apart. My partner’s current project involves educating school children on LGBT acceptance. I know this kind of biography will only scream sockpuppet to some. That is a symptom of the stereotypes gamers suffer. Because I enjoy videogames, these other largely unrelated details of my life will seem impossible to the close-minded.”

 

Anon99: “I’ve heard a lot about a “feminist agenda” in VG long before the #GamerGate tag, but I had mostly shaken it off because I saw it, as one game dev (posting a widely shared article on Google+) said, as something that was not likely to influence major game development. Mind, it was an anti-#GamerGate argument; I can’t find the link, but you may already know of it. That said, on August 18, when the discussion was new and for some inane and self-harming reason focused on Zoe Quinn, I came to know of the social media backlash associated with Gjoni’s posts. It was kind of annoying to see these generalizations — no, scratch that. They were absolutely infuriating. People like me (I am an Asian, but any detail after that will be left blank) were being painted with the brush of “angry teenaged white males who don’t want girls in their secret club”. I very much understand (and I want to put extra emphasis on this) that a lot of the anti-GG people are not that vindictive, and that I had been seeing cherrypicked posts just as much as the other camp was feeding themselves only harassment posts — but that was how I began to notice and keep up on the events described. “

 


2. What do you think the major goal of #GamerGate is?

Anon85: “Ii think it’s about bringing attention to the clear risk for dishonesty and conflicts of interest to exist (whether allegations are true or not). We’ll probably never convince certain sites or individuals to change, but we can cause others to think a little more cynically about what they read. We can cause writers to be a little more transparent in their opinions and their connections. We can show that there is support for indie game devs that don’t want to buy into this supposed ‘clique’. And importantly, we can give a voice to minorities in gaming – which we have done through The Fine Young Capitalists and #notyourshield for example.”

 

Anon86: “Probably it would be to get an actual ethics doctrine that addresses all of our issues up and running. Also to push some of the trouble journalists out. Folks like Leigh or Devin, who use their influence to bully others and manipulate/coerce. Again, I want to point to The Escapist. People have no issues with them now, at least on 4chan. Some still want to see Moviebob/Tostillo(?) gone, but they’re the extreme minority. Oh, and also an apology from all sites involved. Seriously, if they had apologized, none of this would have happened. I would bet you $20.”

 

Anon87: “For me it’s about accountability, and trust – many say it’s corruption, and that might seem like an extreme use of the word but corruption doesn’t have to be extreme, it can be subtle. To me if I had to be succinct, I think that the collusion within the media, particularly in view of the 10 articles debacle mentioned above, is pretty rife especially as I looked into the media reaction to the initial days of gamer gate and saw little more than radio silence on the subject. Gamergate is a reaction to that lack of trust which has been slowly eroding over a few years and the idea that the media can polarise the many, many nuanced opinions and perceptions of millions of gamers and condense them down to a ‘with us or against us’ socio-political push is quite frankly insulting, combined with the blatant factionalism in the rhetoric and stereotyping of gamers as white, socially maladjusted, racist, misogynistic homophobic idiot males who seem to have a grudge against anyone and everyone who likes to align themselves with any other social, political or personal identity. And to me that reaction is to show we have diversity whether it be in our bodies, our lifestyles or the choices that have a profound effect on our lives and beliefs – we are gamers all of us, and the vast, vast majority of us are accepting of others unconditionally. I think the other goal of GamerGate is not to see that diversity butchered into some form of homogenised collective that ticks a socially acceptable subset of boxes whilst ignoring everyone else. ”

 

Anon88: “There are reports of Cronyism and favors being done to gain this and this press. I think a big goal is just some transparency and fairness. Treat everybody with respect, and no “I’ll write this because you did this for me” deals. “

 

@DocBray: “It’s hard to speak for others on the goals of #gamergate over all. I have seen it from just being about exposing corruption, to getting certain authors fired and all manner of things. I think people just want consideration as the audience. I think people feel ignored and insulted and are using #gamergate as their avenue to voice their frustration.”

 

Anon89: “The hashtag has absorbed a lot of baggage and seperate issues of varying worth, but the most important element is to address and discuss the rift between journalists and gamers, the unprofessional and unethical reputation surrounding journalists, and the contempt and dismissal many level towards gamers. “

 

Anon90: “A return to game journalism as it was before the corruption started. It wasn’t always like this.”

 

Anon91: “I’m not sure it has one. It’s a grass roots reaction to being perceived as being attacked. No leader has emerged which hampers attempts at organisation and to formulate goals. However, a goal that seems universal is for a mea culpa from the gaming media for the perceived attacks together with a commitment to more transparency.”

 

Anon92: “Mostly to get attention for our request for a more honest/objective/truthful gaming journalism scene. Twitter itself is not good conveying the why or even what we want changed though. But it’s a great tool for spreading awareness.”

 

Anon93: “To get the major game journalist sites to adhere to a code of ethics, disclosing or avoiding conflict of interest, and get them to apologise for getting this so, so wrong.”

 

Anon94: “Its hard, a hashtag attracts many voices, just to protect the hobby we love”

 

Anon95: “Fighting the corruption and nepotism in game journalism”

 

Anon96: ” http://handbook.reuters.com/index.php?title=Standards_and_Values

 

GooFromSpace: “I think the number one goal is working out what the goals should be. For now, it’s just a consumer riot for people angry about problems that have been around for too long. Sort of like Occupy. Personally, I’d like to see a watchdog like Media Matters or Mediate created for gaming journalism. Something like that would’ve made a big difference for Brad Wardell.”

 

Nathan: “Hold gaming journalists to the same standard as actual journalists, meaning no kickbacks, no political op-ed pieces about games masquerading as news, and no gladhanding with industry power brokers. Basically, bring journalism to gaming journalism. It’s also striking back against an industry that’s been slowly bleeding them for the past 10 years or so. On top of that, blacklisting and the threat of negative publicity only for people that disagree with staff members politically is absolutely shameful and has no place in mainstream media that doesn’t identify itself as a politically-slanted site.”

 

Anon97: “The major goal… i’d say it’s transparcy. We want to know whats going on.”

 

Anon98: “Rooting out corruption in any and all forms in the games industry.”

 

Anon99: “The main idea of #GamerGate seems to be that there’s a clique of people so dangerously connected together that they have, amongst themselves, poisoned VG journalism by propping each other up — and it is the opinion of the consumers’ community at large that they cannot trust an industry that does so at their expense. Therefore, they want to sweep them out.”

 


3. Is this your main goal, or do you have something else you’d like to see addressed too?

Anon85: “I’d certainly like to see an honest apology from Zoe Quinn about her tweeting that caused The Fine Young Capitalists to be doxxed and lose around $10,000 at the start of their venture (reported by several sources).  You might roll your eyes that I’m “making it about her”, but it seems like a shitty thing for anyone to do, intentional or not. A bit of maturity and willingness to admit mistakes would go a long way in clearing her name i think.”

 

Anon86: “I genuinely don’t want developers to get harassed or bullied into following journos around anymore. It happened to TFYC because Zoe didn’t like them apparently, and a shit ton of devs have told us both anonymously and on Twitter/Reddit that they’re terrified of speaking out–or else they get blacklisted too. And once you’re blacklisted…well, it’s tough. TFYC was able to get it because of #gamergate, but what about the next dev? Or the one after that? If my kid sister wanted to get into game dev & publicize her game, would she have to sleep with one of the rich-boy game devs(Fish, for example) to avoid getting blacklisted rather than rebuff him & encourage his wrath/get him to blacklist her? It’s pretty clear that Eron was emotionally abused and manipulated throughout his time with Zoe, yet nobody wants to address that, they want to victim-blame him or dismiss his experiences. I don’t want that for anybody. Not anymore. I read the anti-#gamergate section and absolutely nobody addressed this, they just :^) and said that of course “gaming journalism” had issues but nothing that was major. It’s concerning as hell.”

 

Anon87: “Some form of ethical code is really a good thing for everyone, it’s a win-win, and the games media switching between saying they’re bloggers and journalists when it suits, doesn’t give them a get out of jail free card if people accuse them of nepotism or cronyism if they’ve not disclosed some form of friendship outside of professional relationship. If you want me to accept what you say and write at more or less face value, then there has to be a semblance of trust; good clear disclosure is important in establishing my perspective on your opinion, and if there is no disclosure then it should be assumed that there is some form of professional distance”

 

Anon88: ” I just want everybody to have fun, and make games. I dont care about the message. If its good, and enjoyable, I’ll play it. Heck, if its bad I’ll still play it. I mean, I own Duke Nukem Forever and Aliens Colonial Marines by choice! lol”

 

@DocBray: “What do I want, and hopefully what can become of this in the end?

• The resurgence of the consumer watchdog – meaning people keep an eye out, and speak up for things they find wrong in the media they consume. I hope this branches out from the (to me) unfair prosecution of a certain clique, to the dealings of the big names in games publishing. We have an unprecedented opportunity truly expose and maybe correct some things if we expand our focus to some of the big dogs.

• Opportunity for people of all race, sexes, creeds to enjoy the consumption and creationof games – more and more people are coming out and taking pride in the creativity and passion of gaming. I want this to continue, while hoping and helping people get a fair shake when getting into the industry of game creation or press.

• An opportunity to discuss and confront harassment – something I would like to see, with so many diverse people standing up for #gamergate, is for people to feel more comfortable standing up to and exposing harassment. In this whole affair, harassment has gotten a warranted spotlight. I would like this to be a chance for people on all sides be a voice in confronting harassment when it occurs.”

 

Anon89: “My main goal is to see the best elements of gamers and journalists come out – people who sincerely want better journalism and want to see better practices and articles, and to listen to them and answer questions about the nature of game journalism and what the job entails.”

 

Anon90: “This is my main goal.”

 

Anon91: “I think there’s a much bigger conversation to be had about equality and about the impact on modern society of extreme ideology but #GamerGate is not the place for that conversation. I feel myself as more of an observer of #GamerGate.”

 

Anon92: “Like i said, i don’t view the hash-tag itself as the goal. Merely the first step. But beyond honest/objective/factual reviews i also have issues with blacklists from devs. And it is quite likely there are further complications gamers are not quite aware of. And as a bonus making removing the censorship from Neogaf and Reddit would be nice. But it’s optional, we can do without those sites but it feels like a shame if we had to abandon them.”

 

Anon93: “I’m not above responding to SJW threats to the tag with a rebuke if I see, but my ‘goals’ remain the main ones. It’s also just a nice place (the tag) to hang out and have a friendly chat.”

 

Anon94: “to me its to keep political correctness out of gaming, and to wash gamers public image, we are not sexist or mysoginists”

 

Anon95: “That’s pretty much it.”

 

Anon96: “Yes. Address the corruption and bias, and all the other problems fall in line.”

 

GooFromSpace: “Gamer Gate should focus on how to encourage gaming media outlets to care more about the interests of people who spend their money on games. You’d think that wouldn’t be too hard, since this is why they exist in the first place, but here we are! I’d also like to see progressives take a good look at whether we should be policing ourselves better, but I don’t think of that as a problem for Gamer Gate in general. It started as a horde of angry customers and its future should stem from that.”

 

Nathan: “I want to see something positive come out of this regarding publishers and DLC. I want to see it gradually become a catch-all for fixing the industry. No on-disc paid DLC, no incomplete games released by AAA companies and then patched gradually, no microtransactions in $60 games, no paying for alphas that are abandoned by fly-by-night indie developers and then being denied a refund. I want to see this become about getting a good game out of the box on day one and making it about how the game player can have the most enjoyable experience possible, not about squeezing every penny you can out of him without making him quit.”

 

Anon97: “my personal goal is to be able to check on new games without having to worry if a review is bought.”

 

Anon98: “I suppose I’d also like a general quality boost in game journalism”

 

Anon99: “While I would definitely agree that the issue described in #2 is the major problem here, I notice that a lot of the discussion tends to have gender-related subtext. This is inevitable — yet, said public discourse tends to distract from the fact that first and foremost a lot of the gender issues here are more political than anything, which leads to another point: gamers worry that their hobby is being made into yet another political platform.”

 


4. How do you feel about the negative things that have happened attached to this tag? Do you think they take away from it, or that they’re separate?

Anon85: “There’s been plenty of negativity from both ‘sides’, and i hate to see harassment coming from anywhere. I don’t think you can separate them – #GamerGate wouldn’t have existed without the barrage of negativity aimed at gamers from review sites and on twitter. Likewise, constantly focusing on the same figures that claim harassment is discrediting the tag, and providing the actual sexists with opportunities to abuse from amongst the crowd.”

 

Anon86: “Personally, I’ve never seen anything like that in the tag itself. No racism, no “get out women, we don’t want you slut” in here. A lot of loudness, a lot of bitterness, ect. Snarking outside the tag, too. However, people are entitled to their opinions. I’ve never pushed anyone to try to force them to join a side, and as long as they aren’t hurting anyone over it (permanently), I’d say it was separate. Hey, I’m a 4channer. We’re super big on free speech over here, if you’ve ever read Kaz’s article. http://kazerad.tumblr.com/post/96020280368/faceless-together

 

Anon87: “It’s in the nature of the internet to argue, but I find the attacks of misogyny are being levelled at an entire identity, an identity that is as diverse as they get. The persistent use and indeed abuse of the term ‘misogyny’ for me seems like a checkmate political play – “We’ll throw this at 100s of million of people and no one will argue with it, because no one wants to be seen as a misogynist”, I’ve seen the same kind tactic used by the UK government with internet filters – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-24970283. In many communities, there are people who have extreme view, and perspectives, I sometimes think that the very high tolerance of the gaming community as a whole is abused by a very small minority of people. I don’t think that they take away from the tag, although it doesn’t help, but you have a gaming media that more or less have a party line that they’re intent on voicing irrespective of how many respectful and reasonable voices are drowning out the idiots”

 

Anon88: “I think there’s a lot of unjust negativity twords Gamergate. Alot of people are jumping on it because it was spawned by this or that event. But really they arent looking at it from all sides to see exactly what it is. Its very “Book Cover Judging””

 

@DocBray: “In the vein of the last point… I would say that no, we should neither take away the negative things that have occurred from #gamergate, and we should not we ignore them. We just need to make our voices heard. Any view of the comments of Youtube, or most websites will show you vile things said and vile actions done. We just need to remind people that these are the minority. Everyone who is against harassment should make their voice heard against it, but you cannot whitewash it away.

To accentuate the view that we shouldn’t ignore, nor should we define #gamergate by the negative, I points towards the views held by some members of the Woman’s suffrage movement. There were some members that were vocal about protecting “White supremacy” through Woman’s suffrage, With things said like “White supremacy will be strengthened, not weakened, by women’s suffrage.” (Carrie Chapman Catt, http://articles.latimes.com/1996-05-05/news/mn-677_1_iowa-state) and “The white men, reinforced by the educated white women, could ‘snow under’ the Negro vote in every State, and the white race would maintain its supremacy without corrupting or intimidating the Negroes.” (Laura Clay, http://books.google.com/books?d=MqAw90Ep1CYC&pg=PA104&lpg=PA104#v=onepage&q&f=false) , it could be easy to paint the movement in a bad light. The views and motives of the sum of a movement should not be judged by the views and actions of a few. They also should not be ignored. It would be a dishonest narrative to dismiss the negative that has occurred with #gamergate.”

 

Anon89: “I think those who are interested in games journalism and better game articles and discussing the issues need to speak out against the harassment and the abuse levied by both sides and need to keep focused. Developers, journalists, and misogynists attacking one another doesn’t help anyone. Sadly, many of the problematic elements don’t care about ethics and won’t stop, so all that members can do is keep pushing for ethics and be fair with their challenges and discussions.”

 

Anon90: “While I agree that the gaming community can be toxic at times, it should be up to gamers to deal with this. having us all smeared in the press does not help anyone. If anything, game journalists should encourage their audience to remain civil and not incite the masses against the few.”

 

Anon91: “I think verified threats of any type, particularly over something like games and opinions about them, have no place in a civilised society. However, I strongly feel that the people who actually made those threats are the ones who need to be shamed, not those who share an interest or a passion with them. In the absence of evidence that those individuals are a part of #GamerGate, I don’t consider them attached. Even if they were and could be identified, I don’t think that that fact should preclude those innocent of threats from expressing their feelings under a tag that they feel best represents them. I believe that the biggest obstacle to laying blame where it belongs and finding ways to deal with aberrant behaviour is net anonymity. That’s a much wider issue.”

 

Anon92: “Separate, but i always held the belief that a argument is separate from it’s presentation. Though presenting it civil is the best way ofc.”

 

Anon93: “They are seperate in ideology and intent, and I wish they hadn’t happened or were easy to disassociate, but there’s no way to stop it. If we change the tag, they’d follow. Ironcailly, those on #GamerGate see them no differently than the SJW’s attacking the tag. They are both extremes we want no part of.”

 

Anon94: “We were used to name calling and mocking ourselves on console wars discustion, we werent prepared for a political war, but we admit our mistakes and we have grown after this.”

 

 Anon95: “Extremists and trolls are everywhere, and will attach themselves to anything, even moreso online, they should not detract people from talking about their issues.”

 

Anon96: “Depends on what the “negative” things are. If you mean harrassment? Then yes. Harassment is bad and should stop. On ALL sides. No one should be doxed. No one should be threatened. If Zoe Quinn was doxed, that is not acceptable. If The Fine Young Capitialists and a transgender teenager on wikipedia was doxed THAT IS ALSO NOT ACCEPTABLE. It is NOT okay to harass someone if they don’t share your point of views.

Again, all negative things on all sides are bad. What I don’t understand is why one side is painted as a villain, and the other side is shown as a white hat when it’s not that simple. Yes. You shouldn’t send death threats to a prominent female writer and editor in chief of a major game site for game developers. That is bad. It is not condoned, and if I see it happening, it will be reported to the proper authorities. But why is it acceptable for this same writer to harass young indie game developers on twitter, and send her massive amount of supporters to go harass them? Jason Scheir of Kotaku has said the whole of the gamergate is tainted due to the harassment that that was preformed by a small amount of people. (see his twitter, and neogaf comments) So again I ask, why is the harassment being carried out by the other side okay? They are also sending death threats to women! (see the Jay3D Fox link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyscI9wZ8Bk&list=UUfj3x-aTqioG8cwCI-NF2mg), they are also doxing people! They are also hacking sites! (Gamesnosh was taken down temporally and the TFYC indiegogo campaign was hacked.) Why is this acceptable? Why is this silenced? Why must #gamergate be dismissed to the bad actions of a few, while the other side stays silent about the abuses on their side? ALL HARASSMENT MUST STOP! ALL OF IT! ON BOTH SIDES. I am getting too passionate. Let’s continue.”

 

GooFromSpace: “They take away from it in a couple of ways. The main importance of the negative things attached to this tag is that Zoe Quinn and the media have been able to use them to keep their echo-chambers confident that this is really all about Quinn. Our attacks aren’t going to do much to her position in the world, where if we continue to take on the media we might get some of what we want. She’s basically playing the role of “party tank,” complete with a taunt effect. Secondly, I’m sure turns some people off the movement. I’ve been playing games for a long time, and I noticed the censorship of discussion on reddit, so I’m amped enough to care about all this in spite of the horde of trolls that would normally be the first thing I see. If things had been different, I’d probably have seen the coverage that this is just sexism first and written the whole thing off. Really though, when I compare the way we’ve responded to harassment coming from our side to the way anti-Gaters have responded to the harassment from their side, we come out smelling like a rose. The crazies on our side are nobodies that stay nobodies, not editors who get to be even more popular after promising to use their PR firms to destroy anyone that contradicts them. And the way people keep crazies in check in the KotakuInAction sub-reddit honestly gives me hope.”

 

Nathan: “Of course they take away from it, since the other side seems very happy to use the lowest of the low to their advantage. When you control the narrative, you can tell people that the forest is all rotten because of one dead tree out front and people will believe it. I feel that those people are low-lifes, and they would be low-lifes with or without this cause. I also feel that both sides are guilty of this sort of behavior, and it’s irresponsible and self-serving for the anti-GG side to make the pro-GG side out to be a bunch of internet assassins when they’ve got some real knife-lickers on their side as well.”

 

Anon97: “They happen. People can get emotional. Also, they might write things they wouldnt say, because its the internet. I dont think they are OK, but they belong to it nontheless.”

 

Anon98: “I take issue with the way the question is framed. Bear in mind that the perception of a tag is not solely the result of people in it. The game media itself has a huge influence over perceptions as well as an obvious interest in skewing them a certain way. To that point, the game media is largely the one doing the “attaching.” Illegal actions and threats have been performed in the main by people acting alone and in secret. #GamerGate itself is fairly rigorously internally policing elements that even suggest doing this. For example, (and feel free to drop this particular paragraph if you think it violates your personal-details rule) the move to refer to a certain developer as “Literally Who” (which has now been visibly co-opted by that person) began as an attempt to PULL focus from them and prevent harassment. The idea being that if anyone suggests doing anything in relation to them, everyone else ought to feign ignorance instead of indulging them. In any case, the game media could choose to address the concerns without mentioning the tag at all if they wanted to. In the main, they don’t.”

 

Anon99: “Whichever side you are on, harassment should not be condoned. Those who call out Quinn et al. as “filthy misandrist, leftist, cultural Marxist SJW pig crying MUH SOGGY KNEE ” should be hung, drawn, and quartered, as should those who take the other extreme and scream “fedora-tipping Mountain Dew-guzzling obese Caucasian neckbeard”. These, I believe, only serve to undermine both sides and prevent clear discussion like this.”

 


5. Are there any things #GamerGate seems to be addressing that you disagree with?

Anon85: “I think Anita Sarkeesian doesn’t really have a place in this debate – her latest Tropes video and the resulting threat claims were badly (conveniently?) timed, but not really relevant. Unfortunately, #GamerGate is lumped with the threats, even though it was the series of ‘gamers are dead’ articles that dragged her into this mess, funnily enough.”

 

Anon86: “STOP. ADDRESSING. ZOE. QUINN. She’s messed up and probably sociopathic, we get it! Jeeze. Just stop though. You’re ruining the reputation of this movement. If you’re gonna talk about her, do it indirectly, through the journalists who should have contacted iFred about the whole charity thing and gotten a statement about them instead of running off just one source.”

 

Anon87: “Any particular insistence that GG as a whole, by any pro GamerGate person, is about ZQ or AS is detrimental because it isn;t and to be honest, most GG proponents have moved past both of them to their point that they’re more or less irrelevant, bar their (ZQ in particular) need to keep the narrative on point and about them.”

 

Anon88: ” I think they could talk a little less about Zoe Quinn or Anita Sarkeesian. These are 2 people with opinions that I dont see eye to eye with. Granted, their events did start fingerpointing, But I think this has grown bigger than that. “

 

@DocBray: No answer given.

 

Anon89: “I question the importance of scrutinizing game developers’ business practices at this time. While I understand the relationships between journalists and developers/publishers is important, I also think the relationship between journalists and gamers is a better way to address that, since journalists are supposed to work on behalf of their readers. Many developers have received the worst attacks, and have levied the worst indiscriminate attacks against gamers. It doesn’t help anyone.”

 

Anon90: “We tend to get carried away with certain info before they’re confirmed as fact. Though I’m happy that most of us are willing to admit our faults when we’re wrong. We should focus more on the cause of the corruption itself and less on the symptoms that have caused the initial outrage.”

 

Anon91: “No. I am unimpressed with the language some choose to adopt but other than that, no. I think they are legitimate questions to ask.”

 

Anon92: “Quite probably, but i have a hard time reading all of it. I do see far to less truly civil conversations though. And people jumping to fast on allegations/scandals/misinterpretations.”

 

Anon93: “Feminist Frequency. It’s mostly born out of her videos being cross-postsed on gaming sites which polarises viewers, and I get that frustration – because they aren’t very good, despite the overall message being a good one to discuss. Anyone can and should be able to make a YT video though, God knows there’s worse stuff out there. But if you don’t like her, just ignore her. She’s not a threat.”

 

Anon94: “Harrasing, which is made by our inmature members, i suspect all those nasty stuff were made by kids that are like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ap4vqjJ9hzM We called them “niños rata” here, rat kids, but it would be REALLY REALLY wrong to use them as a scapegoat, cause they are just kids”

 

Anon95: “I think that people keep pulling Literally Who back to the spotlight are doing “us” a disservice, but then again I’d like to believe those are trolls/shills.”

 

Anon96: “There are too many distractions. Too many conspiracy theories. Too many desperate grasps at vindication. Instead of focusing on unfounded claims of faked police reports, or unreported charitable contributions we should focus on the core issues. Don’t get me started on the crazy Marxist conspiracy theories.”

 

GooFromSpace: “I don’t like the way some people lump all progressive ideas together as Social Justice Warrior stuff… But I can’t be too strident about that, because it’s partially my fault. We don’t do enough to restrain our own when they say or do ridiculous things, and I rarely get involved in anything so I’m more guilty of that than most. I also don’t like the way we keep letting Zoe Quinn turn the focus of all this chatter in on herself. Again, she’s taken a lot of attention from other things, intentionally or not, and too many people are falling for it. This is preventing other people with progressive views like mine from realizing that Gamer Gate’s around to address real grievances about how things should work in the gaming industry.”

 

Nathan: “I disagree with both sides using women and minorities as pawns. It feels like the GamerGate movement is elevating certain personalities in kind of a “my black friend” sort of way. Which is fine, since they’re being painted as bigots, but I do wonder where their loyalties to them will lie once this particular issue dies down.”

 

Anon97: “No.”

 

Anon98: “As mentioned before, I’m not particularly concerned with opposing self-identified SJWs, though I share concerns about certain ideological positions.”

 

Anon99: “As of now, not that I know of or recall, unfortunately.”

 


6. Are there any things #GamerGate is ignoring that you want it to talk about?

Anon85: “The “it’s clearly not about ethics, you aren’t upset with big developers like EA!” is something i hear a lot. I agree that those major companies are corrupt, but we won’t get anywhere unless we focus on one thing at a time. Besides which, everyone and their dog knows that EA are crooks. Indie gaming is supposed to be the counterpoint to corporate and media corruption – why else would they go indie? It’s a far more impassioned issue because indie game devs were supposed to be better than that.”

 

Anon86: “I do wish they would address the issue of misogyny/bigotry. A lot of people seem determined to avoid the issue firmly, but honestly it is kinda there. Subtle, sure, and less important than SJW’s/feminists make it out to be, but there was that whole thing about not being able to play another female assassin despite the community wanting it.”

 

Anon87: “I don’t think ignoring is possibly the best word, but maybe not putting more attention on people who play games but also have to contend with mental issues and disabilities, in this area I think the gaming industry as a whole and gamers could do better”

 

Anon88: ” The only thing I would change about Gamergate would be to distance themselves from 4chan. I feel like they need to tackle both sides of Harassment. 4chan has had lots of people harass others. “

 

@DocBray: “And this would be one of the points that I do believe #gamergate is missing. I want this to be a platform for people to feel more confident speaking out and condemning harassment with. Not just in games, but everywhere online. To call it out, even if the harassment is to someone you disagree with. Many diverse people have come to voice their opinions for and against #gamergate, and want everyone to come away with the feeling that it will not be stood for. We cannot discuss harassment if we ignore it, and harassment HAS come from #gamergate”

 

Anon89: No answer given.

 

Anon90: “If anything, we are a diverse group with often very few similarities between us, yet we are supportive of eachother and any concerns are often picked up by the group. Noone should be afraid to speak up and voice their concerns. While I have no additional concerns that are not already covered by GamerGate, i’m sure others do and I hope they’ll get picked up by the movement.”

 

Anon91: “There’s no particular issue but I would like to see members of #GamerGate applying their investigative skills into tracking down and identifying those who do make threats. Of course, this requires specific knowledge of them and that is limited by what victims choose to make public.”

 

Anon92: “I do think censorship needs to be looked, both at community, developer and journalism sites. But i’m also not sure everyone is aware of it.”

 

Anon93: “I think there should be a clearer stance on things like Patreon being ok for journalsits to donate to, as long as its disclosed rather than outright condeming it. I think there should’ve been more call to rally to show those that felt ‘forced out’ because of all this that they have a right to be here, and that any harrassment they received was not condoned by those that take the tag seriously.”

 

Anon94: “No, i think we are covering to much and not focusing on one single issue at a time”

 

Anon95: “The spotlight will eventually have to move onto the elephant in the living room, the major publishers, although dealing with that now would probably hurt the movement and if other sites can follow the Escapist’s example, it won’t be necessary anyway.”

 

Anon96: “There maybe, but I can’t of them. While there is focus on corruption, I don’t think we are talking about AAA attempt to influence game journalism. Too much focus on the indie scene. Part of that his the AAA stuff is behind closed doors, where as the other stuff has names attached.”

 

 GooFromSpace: “Nope! If anything, we’re covering too many issues at the moment.”

 

Nathan: “None so far. I’d rather they stay focused on this one point for now. It’s not going to be easy to change what they want to change.”

 

Anon97: “No.”

 

Anon98: “I could say AAA game corruption, but what I would really mean is I wish some extremely damning evidence against AAA studios appeared.”

 

Anon99: “The second implicit problem with “good reviews for favors” is that it goes both ways. What about AAA, big-name publishers themselves who send for the VG journos to exclusive launches? So far, most of the backlash seems to be against the journalists, and while I personally believe they should be audited for corruption, the other side of the coin should, as well.”

Leave a Reply

